Sunday, September 21, 2014

ASO--90 years young...

The 90th season for our ASO is off and running- and what a way to start!  The program on Friday night roared into life with the fantastic new piece, "The Way Through" by Chris Rogerson, which was commissioned din honor of this 90th season. The program built from there with Brahms' Variation on a Theme of Joseph Haydn, Op 56a and climaxed with the taming of the beast that is Rachmaninoff's Piano Concerto No 3 in D minor, Op 30 played so ably by our guest artist,
Garrick Ohlsson.

Maestro Bairos made note as to how having Ohlsson with the orchestra during the week lifted the orchestral players efforts to another level.  Even to my un-sophisticate, tinnitus plagued ears it was obvious to those of us in attendance on Friday night were privileged to share a very special even of music.

Ohlsson is a wonder.  I listened in awe as he wrought a tsunami of wondrous proportions from the grand piano.  Likely, said instrument was ready to wave the white flag, to concede that never had so much been asked of it, yet grateful to have done its small part in blessing those in the hall with Ohlsson's rendering of Rachmaninoff's offering. 

To my mind the orchestra stood toe to toe with this pianist of world renown.  Bravo all!

To our ASO musicians and to Maestro Bairos, thank you for rising to the occasion.  The bar is at a new high.  Enjoy this taste of success; let it build toward a glorious season.  My ears can't wait to hear what else is in store for us as we make our way through.


No comments:

Post a Comment